Don’t design for yourself

Don't Make Me Think: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (2nd Edition)

I just finished reading Steve Krugs bestseller, Don’t make me think. It’s a book about user-friendly web interfaces and it was kind of an eyeopener too me. Not because it told me something I’ve never heard before, but because it emphasized that not all users are working at a design studio. Was that an eye opener? Well… yes it was. Once again I was reminded how difficult it is decode your audience and how easy it is to design for some one like yourself. So Krug retold me the story of just how different web users really are, and what level of navigation principles you really should design for. If you work with usability and web design, you aught to be forced to read something like this every half year. Agree?

By Rudolf

Leave a Reply

